Way Off Broadway Theatre Announces Cast for Hairspray!


CONTACT:  Barbara Simpson, Cultural Arts & Special Events, or (334) 595-0851

May 8, 2017


Prattville’s Way Off Broadway Theatre and Director Mary Katherine Moore have announced the cast for the much anticipated performance of the hit Broadway musical Hairspray! which will open on Thursday, July 13. More than 50 people auditioned for the production, which is the biggest musical ever produced at the theater. Auditions drew talent from all around the area, including Prattville, Montgomery, Wetumpka and Birmingham.

Veteran actress Merelee Robinson will lead the cast as Tracy Turnblad and River region native Jon Darby will perform the role of Edna Turnblad. It is a tradition in Hairspray! for a male actor to play the role of Tracy’s mother. In addition to Merelee and Jon, this large cast includes Kaitlyn Conway, Michael Buchanan, Lucie Chesser, Elizabeth Bowles, Tate Pollock, Olivia Crutchfield, Keirsten Mattox, Michael Armstrong, Andrew Clem, Mikayla Matthews, Matthew Mitchell, Olivia Mitchell, Jessica Carpenter, Kori Hedgeman, Desirae Lewis, Scott Page, Brandon Shearin, Leslie Bailey, Haley DePace, Antonio George, Calvin Johnson, Dre Massey, Abby Roberts, Faith Roberts, Maggie Rowe, Leah Temple, Tunisia Thomas, and Ariyanna Woods.

“The talent we have in our area is astounding, and I’m thrilled that so many people want to be a part of the Hairspray! experience. And not just onstage. We have had many people volunteer their talents for costumes, lights, set construction and all the offstage jobs that make a production,” says Mary Katherine Moore, director. Daren Eastwold will choreograph, and Marilyn Swears will direct music.

Hairspray! will open on Thursday, July 13, at 7:30 p.m. and there will be a reception after the play to meet the cast and crew. It will run July 13, 14, 15, 21, 22, 28, 29 at 7:30 p.m. and matinee performances. July 16, 23, 29 at 2:00 p.m. Tickets are $12 in advance and $14 at the door and can be purchased on line at cc.prattvilleal.gov, with a credit card over the phone through the Special Events Office at 334-595-0854, or by visiting the Special Events Office at 203 West 4th Street between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Hairspray! is presented through special arrangement with Music Theatre International (MTI). Book is by Mark O’Donnell and Thomas Meehan. Music by Marc Shaiman. Lyrics by Scott Wittman and Marc Shaiman. Based on the New Line Cinema film written and directed by John Waters.

For more information, contact the Special Events Office at 334-595-0851 or visit the website at wobt.prattvilleal.gov.